The Scooter School of Austin by Electric Avenue: Friendly, Affordable, and Accommodating!
(Motorcycles? Yes, we got ’em! Our M license Basic Rider Course is the one required by law in Texas for riding any scooter or motorcycle that can go 30 mph or more. At every Scooter School session, you can choose to get your M license instruction using one of our scooters or motorcycles).
To sign up for classes farther in the future, please see bottom of this page, click here for a full list, or call us at (512) 608-4090. Regular course tuition is $240 per person.
Electric Avenue’s Scooter School is a TX DPS approved motorcycle license or M endorsement course located in central Austin, Texas. A prerequisite for taking our BRC is the ability to ride a 2-wheeled bicycle, and balance while coasting.
Classes consist of (a) an online eCourse to be completed before arriving at your appointed class (the eCourse will require about 3 hours to complete – please print your certificate of completion to bring with you to your class), (b) 5 hours of classroom instruction (in plush comfort at the Triangle), and (c) 10 hours of scooter or motorcycle riding exercises in a protected, off-street environment (Anderson Square parking lot – 900 West Anderson Lane, Austin, TX 78757). Scooters, motorcycles, and helmets are provided free of charge for your use during the course. A Motorcycle Safety Foundation, or MSF-certified Rider Coach will guide you through the skills of straight-line riding, stopping, and turning, gradually progressing to swerving and emergency braking.
Our Basic Rider Course covers all of the classroom knowledge and real-world skills necessary for maximum safety and enjoyment of scootering and motorcycling. In our BRC, the student earns a certificate towards their M class license in Texas and many other states. With the BRC certificate, the student would then go to their local Department of Public Safety driver’s license office and get their M endorsement. (Minors and anyone without a current class C require a road test at their DPS license office). The DPS knowledge test is covered during the classroom portion of the BRC, and a Motorcycle Operators Manual (MOM) is given out upon successful completion of the course covering additional information and content on trikes. Have fun, ride Safer!
Do I need a license to drive a scooter in Texas? Yes! As of September, 2009, in Texas, the operation of any street-legal moped or scooter requires a Class M motorcycle license. This includes electric scooters, 49cc and 50cc scooters and mopeds. See the Texas Department of Public Safety Motorcycle/ ATV Safety Unit Vehicle Descriptions and Requirements.
Looking for Advanced Motorcycle Training or Ticket Dismissal? Check out Pro Rider Central Texas. (You need to already have a Motorcycle license).
Rider Coach Choon
Rider Coach Lonny
Rider Coach Sue
Rider Coach Paul
Know someone who is interested in taking a Basic Rider Course? We have gift certificates available!
All Upcoming MSF Classes
May 21-22, 2022 MSF Basic Rider Course$240.00 Select options Spots remaining: 0
June 11-22, 2022 MSF Basic Rider Course$240.00 Select options Spots remaining: 1
June 18-19, 2022 MSF Basic Rider Course$240.00 Select options Spots remaining: 8
July 23-24, 2022 MSF Basic Rider Course$240.00 Select options Spots remaining: 8
Please inquire about our group discounts, Electric Avenue customer discounts, and military discount. Electric Avenue reserves the right to reschedule or cancel course dates with at least 24 hours notice of the BRC.
Cancellation Policy: Cancellations eligible for a full refund must be requested at least 14 days before the scheduled course begins. Any requested cancellations less than 14 days before the beginning of the scheduled course may or may not be eligible for a refund, due to the difficulty or unavailability in reassigning the space to another student or students.
Rescheduling Policy: Rescheduling requested at least 7 days before the initially scheduled course begins costs $25. Any rescheduling requested less than 7 days before the beginning of the initially scheduled course costs $100.
General Policy: We ask that students be sure to show up on-time or early to each classroom and riding session they are scheduled for. Once you pay your course fee, you have entered into a contract with Electric Avenue and may forfeit the entire course fee if you are late for your scheduled session(s), miss a session entirely, leave part way through a session for any reason, are dismissed by your instructor for any reason, or do not wear the proper apparel for riding (which is outlined on each session's shopping cart page and welcome email Electric Avenue sends you after you sign up). Electric Avenue and its staff will try its best to accommodate your needs under extenuating circumstances, if you bring these to our attention, but we cannot guarantee that you will not forfeit your payment(s) or incur additional fees.